Brandenburg supports bill to allow 30-day grace period for affixing license tabs
A new law will give some peace of mind to drivers who renew their vehicle registration online or by mail a little too close to the deadline.
Public Act 64 of 2018 provides a 30-day grace window to apply license plate tabs for motorists who haven’t yet received their tabs in the mail. The law doesn’t extend the time a driver has to register or renew the registration but allows drivers some flexibility in case processing or mailing delays prevent the tab from arriving in time. The secretary of state’s office notes that most law enforcement agencies can verify electronically if the vehicle plate has been renewed or is expired.
The new law takes effect June 12, 2018.
New laws ban possession of ransomware
Ransomware is a type of malicious software designed to block access to a computer system or freeze files until a sum of money — or ransom — is paid. Some high profile ransomware attacks have targeted hospitals, businesses and utilities.
While Michigan has laws that prohibit the hacking and unauthorized use of computer systems, I recently supported an effort to strengthen the law by prohibiting even the possession or distribution of the software. Under Public Acts 95 and 96 of 2018, violators will be guilty of a felony punishable by up to three years in prison. The tougher penalties will help deter and prevent the growth of this cybercrime.
The new laws take effect July 1, 2018.
Taxpayers can check state refund status
State and federal income tax returns are due this year on Tuesday, April 17. Taxpayers can check on the status of their state income tax refund online at www.michigan.gov/wheresmyrefund. E-filers can check two weeks from the date the return was accepted while paper filers can check from six to eight weeks after postmarking.
To ensure privacy and security, taxpayers need to provide their Social Security number, tax year, filing status and Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) or Total Household Resources (THR). The AGI is located on line 10 of the MI-1040; THR is found on line 33 of the MI-1040CR.
The Department of Treasury reports that in 2017, 3.7 million individual tax returns provided nearly $2 billion in refunds.
Michigan fishing guide available
Michigan’s 2018 fishing license season kicked off on April 1 and includes some new regulation changes. Anglers can find information on licenses, seasons, general regulations and county exceptions, and more in the 2018 Michigan Fishing Guide. The guide is available where fishing licenses are sold or online at www.michigan.gov/dnrdigests. The online version is always up to date and available to download.
Anglers can buy their fishing license in person at a local license retailer or online at www.mdnr-elicense.com. The annual fee for a resident all-species fishing license is $26; an annual senior license is available for $11 for residents 65 or older.